Nilofar (Arabian Sea)


NASA’s Aqua satellite captured this image of Tropical Cyclone Nilofar (04A) in the Arabian Sea on Oct. 27 at 9:10 UTC (5:10 a.m. EDT).
Image Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team

NASA’s Aqua Satellite Eyeing Tropical Cyclone Nilofar in Arabian Sea

Tropical Cyclone 04A continues to intensify and had been renamed Tropical Cyclone Nilofar when NASA’s Aqua satellite passed overhead on Oct. 27.

Continue reading

Hanna (was TD9 – Atlantic Ocean)

hanna-modis-102714 copy 0

NASA’s Terra satellite passed over Tropical Storm Hanna on Oct. 26 at 11:45 p.m. EDT and saw high thunderstorms (red) around the newly reformed center of circulation with cold cloud top temperatures near -63F/-53C that indicated they were high in the troposphere. Credit: NASA/NRL

NASA Sees a “Zombie” Tropical Storm Kick Off Halloween Week

NASA’s Terra satellite spotted a “zombie” tropical storm as Halloween week kicks off. Tropical Depression 9 made landfall in Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula late last week and lingered as a remnant low pressure area on Saturday and Sunday, Oct. 25 and 26. Satellite data revealed that those remnants had reformed quickly and jumped up to tropical storm status, where it became “zombie” storm named Tropical Storm Hanna off the coast of Nicaragua. NASA’s Terra satellite spotted strong thunderstorms around the zombie storm’s center as it passed overhead.

Continue reading

Johnie Berntsson wins 2014 Argo Group Gold Cup

1A-14-N Berntsson with crew DSC 6725

Johnie Berntsson (SWE) Stena Match Racing and his crew Robert Skarp, Bjorn Lundgren, and Oscar Angervall won Johnie’s second Argo Group Gold Cup at the Royal Bermuda Yacht Club. He defeated Eric Monnin in the finals. Taylor Canfield wes third and Alpari World Match Racing Tour leader Ian Williams was fourth. ©Talbot Wilson

Argo Group Gold Cup: Stage 6 of the Alpari World Match Racing Tour—

By Talbot Wilson

Hamilton BERMUDA, October 26, 2014— Johnie Berntsson (SWE) Stena Sailing Team has won the 2014 Argo Group Gold Cup and $50,000 of the $100,000 prize purse. Berntsson defeated Eric Monnin (SWI) Swiss Match Racing Team 3-1 in brilliant match racing conditions on Bermuda’s Hamilton Harbour. This is the second time the jovial Swede has won the cup, repeating his triumph of 2008.

Continue reading

Two Champions. Johnie Berntsson (SWE) won the Argo Group Gold Cup and Christian Spodsberg (DEN) won the Renaissance Re Junior Gold Cup


Denmark’s Christian Spodsberg won the Renaissance Re Junior Gold Cup and Sweden’s Johnie Berntsson won the 2014 Argo Group Gold Cup.

Denmark’s Denmark’s Christian Spodsberg wins the RenaissanceRe Junior Gold Cup
By Laurie Fullerton

Hamilton BERMUDA, Oct. 26, 2014— After three days of racing on the Great Sound, the fleet of 14 International sailors and 26 Bermudians met their final teacher – a tricky, shifty Hamilton harbour course the final challenge to the fleet. The sailors took it on and despite the difficult, light conditions, Denmark’s Christian Spodsberg finished today’s race in first place with 33 points and is the overall winner of the Renaissance Re Junior Gold Cup.

Continue reading

Berntsson joins sailing’s elite


Hamilton, Bermuda (26th Oct 2014): Johnie Berntsson and his Stena Sailing Team today followed the world’s top sailors such as Russell Coutts, Peter Gilmour, Ben Ainslie and Chris Dickson in becoming a two time victor of the Argo Group Gold Cup, the sixth stage of the Alpari World Match Racing Tour. The 42-year-old Swede claimed the title 3-1 over Switzerland’s Eric Monnin in perfect conditions on Bermuda’s Hamilton Harbour with 11 knots of northwest wind and the morning’s cloud cover giving way to glorious sunshine.


Continue reading

China Cup – AY Race Report 3

China Cup International Regatta 2014

Goto China Cup website

AY Race Report 3

Day 3 – Three-way match race to decide 40.7 victory
By CCIR Media – Sailing Intelligence
Sunday, 26th October, Shenzhen, China: The Beneteau 40.7 fleet is perfectly poised for a three-way gunfight going into the final day of the China Cup International Regatta. The winners of the past three editions go into Monday virtually neck and neck, with Vatti Sailing (2012 winner) and Vanke Longcheer (2013 winner) tied at the top, and Beijing Sailing Center (2011 winner) just a point behind in third place.

Continue reading